FINAL

Minutes National Communication Association Executive Committee of the Legislative Assembly Virtual April 10, 2024

Participating in the meeting:

Marnel Niles Goins, President; Jeanetta Sims, First Vice President; Tina Harris, Second Vice President; Walid Afifi, Immediate Past President; Jimmie Manning, Finance Committee Chair/Treasurer; Candice Thomas-Maddox, Finance Committee Director; James Cherney, IDEA Council Chair; Shaunak Sastry, Research Council Chair; Katherine Thweatt, Teaching and Learning Council Chair; Justin Danowski, Interim Executive Director/Secretary (non-voting).

National Office staff in attendance: LaShawn Duckett, Director and Convention and Meetings.

1. Call to Order

President Niles Goins called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. Eastern.

2. National Office Update

Danowski provided an update on the current staff operations.

3. Western States Communication Association Resolution

Niles Goins asked the EC to review the recent resolution approved by the WSCA.

- 4. Journal Editor Endorsement
 - a. Sloop provided an update on journal editor recommendations. The following individuals were brought forward by the recommendation of the Publications Council.
 - i. A motion was made to endorse Stephen Croucher, Massey University for Communication Monographs, and forward to the Legislative Assembly for final approval. Seconded. Discussion ensued. Motion carried 11 yes, 0 no, 1 abstain.
 - ii. A motion was made to endorse Leland Spencer, Miami University, Hamiton for Critical Studies in Media Communication, and forward to the Legislative Assembly for final approval. Seconded. Discussion ensued. Motion carried 12 yes, 0 no, 0 abstain.
 - iii. A motion was made to endorse Casey Kelly, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, for Quarterly Journal of Speech, and forward to the Legislative Assembly for final approval. Seconded. Discussion ensued. Motion carried 12 yes, 0 no, 0 abstain.
 - iv. A motion was made to endorse

Assembly for final approval. Seconded. Discussion ensued. Motion failed 2

yes, 7 no, 3 abstain.

- 1. The EC asked Sloop to return to the Publications Council and provide another candidate for endorsement.
- v. A motion was made to endorse Ryan Neville-Shephard, University of Arkansas, for Communication and Democracy, and forward to the Legislative Assembly for final approval. Seconded. Discussion ensued. Motion carried 12 yes, 0 no, 0 abstain.
- vi. A motion was made to endorse Jennifer Zenovich, California State University East Bay and Leda Cooks, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, and forward to the Legislative Assembly for final approval. Seconded. Discussion ensued. Motion failed 1 yes, 11 no, 0 abstain.
 - 1. A motion was made to endorse Cooks as Editor and forward to the Legislative Assembly for final approval. Seconded. Discussion ensued. Motion carried 12 yes, 0 no, 0 abstain.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m. Eastern.

Respectfully submitted, Justin Danowski Interim Executive Director